“papaya tree” painting for the next art class

IMG_4377 

Hello my artist friends,

I will be happy to see you all again at the painting class on Tuesday. Even though it is sad that the holiday went by so fast, it will be so nice to see all my friends again. 

During the last few days I was sketching my papaya tree in the yard. My tree doesn’t have nice tasting fruit, but it has wonderful foliage.

IMG_4366

I was wondering how I can get you guys to paint the foliage without getting too frustrated with too much detail in the leaves and with trying to erase any mistakes on a beautifully finished background.

Well my secret weapon, besides my cardboard stick, is a stencil. I cut out one simple stencil for a leaf and placed it strategically around the canvas.

What a difference….all I had to do is make some highlights and detail lines on the leaf and the tree came alive.

I can’t wait to share with you how to paint this lovely papaya tree on Tuesday!

Oooops…I think my horizon is crooked. 

Hugs,

Sissi

Leave a Reply

